Readathon // April 2016 Hours 1-6

Book friends enable you. Like when they post links to a 24-hour readathon on your Facebook wall without any comment (*ahem* Juli). And that, my friends, is the entire story behind why I’m doing Dewey’s readathon this spring. It’s a very short and wonderful story. I’ll be updating in this post throughout the day on Saturday, but here’s my tentative TBR for the day:

image

books and puppies and happiness, xoxo,
Sarah

7:02am
I don’t always wake up way too early on a Saturday, but when I do it’s for Readathon. I’m starting with a book I actually picked up earlier this week, A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, and couldn’t wait to begin that wasn’t on my original TBR (because decisiveness).

20160423_071200
Opening hour meme from Readathon:
1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today? Nashville, Tennessee
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King.. I’m a huge Stephen King fan and Ihe’s coming to Nashville in June (sold out in 3 hours!). the third book in this trilogy comes with your ticket so I need to catch up!
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? There’s a planned stop to go to a coffee shop in Nashville called Perk and Cork with the best cinnamon buns. I consider cinnamon buns to be a food group.
4) Tell us a little something about yourself! I come from a family of readers! They impress me so much with how often they’ve heard about (or read) a book long before I do.
5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to? I’m most looking forward to interacting with other book nerds and getting good book recommendations.

[[ Hour 1: 86 pages read]]

8:00am
This book is amazing. And I am one tired puppy.

8:55am
Finished A Monster Calls. I might have cried. Okay, I definitely cried, and books rarely do that to me. Moving on to the other book I’m in the middle of (and also wrecking me), Cities I’ve Never Lived In by Sara Majka. In a bit I’ll need to start getting ready for a quick stop at work (science rests for no man, or woman).

[[Hour 2: 67 pages read, 153 pages total]]

12:27pm
Back. In. The. Game. Done with work and Juli’s house, picked up Maus.

 

image

oatmeal creme pies: snack of champions.

 

[[Hour 6: 56 pages read, 209 pages total]]

 

3 thoughts on “Readathon // April 2016 Hours 1-6

  1. melissaverasr says:

    Good luck! The audiobook of The Martian is AMAZING, you should check it out (if you like audiobooks). It would be perfect for the readathon~

    Like

    • Sarah says:

      I am SO picky about audiobooks but the ones that have been recommended to me I have enjoyed! I’ll have to walk my dog a few times so a good audiobook is exactly what my TBR was missing, thanks! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • melissaverasr says:

        I hope you like it! I find it so funny, and there are parts in that book that are kind of… technical, let’s say, so it helped me a lot to listen instead of reading it

        Like

Leave a Reply

